Pomeroy High School Alumni Banquet recognizes classes

Staff Report

POMEROY — The annual Pomeroy High School Alumni Banquet was May 28 in the Meigs High School cafeteria, decorated with flowers and balloons by Francis Florists and Bob’s Market and Greenhouses.

With approximately 180 in attendance, William Young, Class of 1961, was the evenings master of ceremonies. The meeting opened with the Pledge of Allegiance led by Bruce Stalnaker, Class 1960, of Port Charlotte, Fla., followed by group singing of the Purple and White.

The invocation before the meal was also given by Bruce Stalnaker. Following the banquet meal, classes were recognized, beginning with the Class of 1937: Cordelia Curtis Bentz, Pomeroy; 1938: Sara Hawk Cullums, Pomeroy; 1939: Mildred Thoma Ziegler and June Forbes Sayre, Pomeroy; 75th anniversary, 1941: Wilma Eynon Reiber, Racine; 1943: Belva Jung Glaze, Pomeroy; 1944: Mary Couch Thomas, Powell, Ohio.

The Class of 1946 celebrated their 70th anniversary: Howard Mullen, George Wright, Pomeroy and John Ihle, Racine.

Class of 1947: Ida Johnson Murphy, Pomeroy; 1948: William Knight, Pt. Pleasant, WVa, Nelda Drenner Mockey, Hickory, NC, James Lochary, Amesville and Kenneth Harris, Pomeroy; 1949: Ann Foster Cottrill, Lancaster, OH and Peggy Dailey Houdashelt, Pomeroy.

Class of 1950: Betty Genheimer Knight, Point Pleasant, W.Va; 65th anniversary, 1951: JoAnne Jones Williams, Syracuse; Howard Simpson, Stewart; and Yvonne Roush Richardson, Alexandria, Ohio; 1952: Shirley Beegle Huston, Syracuse and Phyllis Meier May; 1953: William Roush, El Paso, Texas; Marilyn Vickers, Kenneth Cole, Washington Court House; Sue Struble Tubbs, Syracuse and Frances Hunnell, Pomeroy; 1954: Richard Leifheit, Springfield, Ohio; 1955: Bill Hysell, Columbus; Roger Hines, Logan; Thomas Smith and Harley Johnson, Pomeroy; 1956: 60th anniversary: Eva Carl King, Dale Harrison, Janice Riffle Reuter, Myrtis Parker, David Riggs, Pomeroy; Carolyn Charles, Columbus; Shirley Bowers Bumgardner, Mary Scott Wise, Middleport; Carol Baker Jett, Minersville; Dorothy Stark Amberger, Syracuse; Charles Withee, Rio Grande; John Young, Lancaster. 1957: Lila Terrell Mitch, Dan Morris, April Shasteen Smith, Carol Curtis Riggs and Rita Ball Matthews, Pomeroy. 1958: Jerry Fields, Pomeroy and Joseph Kennedy, Belpre. 1959: Marlene Scholl Harrison, Gene Romine and Kathryn Slack Johnson, Pomeroy.

1960: Paul Roush, Tuppers Plains; Barbara Eskew Fields, Sharon Douglas Swindell, Vincent Knight, Pomeroy; Albert Martin and Elsie Arnold Martin, Vincent, and Bruce Stalnaker, Port Charlotte; 1961: 55th anniversary: Ben Ewing, William Young, Norman Price, Wally Hatfield, Paula Sayre Welker, Pomeroy; Edna Carman Stalder, Albany; Kaaron Kelton Austin, Richmond, Va.; James Kern, Parkersburg, W.Va.; Michael Roberts, Akron; Sarah Foster Williams, Blacklick, Ohio; Sondra Drake Stobart, Canal Winchester; Linda Chapman Stalnaker, Port Charlotte; Roberta Hoover Dillon, Moxahala, Ohio; Donald Sayre, Merritt Island, Fla.; Nancy Eichinger Hubbard, Parkersburg; Michael Swatzel, Little Hocking; Keith Barnitz, Kingston; and Carol Sargent Sprouse, Hazelwood, Mo. 1962: Anita Russell Neutzling, Wadsworth; Carla Dill Carter and Michael Werry, Belpre. 1963: Charlene Diehl Rutherford, Judy Wehrung Sisson and Allen Downie, Pomeroy.

1964: Keith Whaley, Lancaster; Danny Smith, South Point; Jennifer Crew Solomon, Chester, S.C.; Donna Smith Hatfield and Don Mayer, Pomeroy. 1965: Barbara Horak Smith, Don Cullums, John Anderson, Joan Hewetson Anderson, Linda Darnell Mayer, John Curd and Donna Hauck Carr, Pomeroy; Carla Will Werry, Belpre and Faye Cramer Isenhour, Claremont, S.C.. 1966: ; 50th anniversary: Charles Hayes, Midlothian, Texas, Darla Ebersbach Siley, Marietta, David Goodwin, Ashburn, Va.; Leonard Lyons, Davenport, Fla.; Sandy Gilmore, Dublin; Rex Cummings, Syracuse; Carl Aleshire, Franklin; Jeannie Ebersbach Stanley, Bidwell; Gail St.Clair and Bennett Roush, Middleport; William Nease and Charles Berry, Racine; Richard Knight and Shirley Baxter Knight, Lake Lure, N.C.; William Francis, Reedsville; Mike Neutzling, Guy Sargent, Thomas Bentz, Linda Barber, Robert Smith, Sharon Biggs, Carson Crow and Beverly Johnson Fetty, Pomeroy; Charlotte Lambert, The Plains, Chris Tompkins, Wadsworth; Jay Russell, Medina; Hilah Vaughan Layne, Richlands, Va.; Vickie Fetty Manring, Ironton; Janette Scott, Pickerington.

The business meeting included the announcement of officers elected for 2017, They are William Young, president; William Francis, vice president; Marcia Grueser Arnold and Thelma Davis Jeffers, secretary-treasurers.

The Executive Committee elected are Mary Scott Wise, April Shasteen Smith, Judy Wehrung Sisson, Lila Terrell Mitch, Charlene Diehl Rutherford and Carol Strauss Kennedy.

The Advisory Committee elected Norman Price, Jean Casto Hilton, Ed Kennedy and JoAnne Jones Williams.

Jean Casto Hilton, Class of 1962, presented two humorous readings preceding the nominating committee report.

Scholarship winners were announced (see story on Page 1), followed by the Pomeroy alumn singing of the Alma Mater led by Bruce Stalnaker.

The benediction by Stalnaker closed the event, and group photos of reunion classes were taken at the conclusion of the evening.

Staff Report