Rio women land 3 on All-KIAC soccer teams

By Randy Payton - For Ohio Valley Publishing

FLORENCE, Ky. — University of Rio Grande senior forward Kasey Crow was among those named to the 2015 All-Kentucky Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Women’s Soccer First Team on Wednesday.

Crow, a native of Chillicothe, Ohio and the league’s Player of the Year last season, is tied for second on the RedStorm roster with three goals, while handing out a team-high six assists and scoring a team-best 12 points.

Crow was one of 14 players named as First Team selections through the balloting of the conference’s head coaches. An 11-player Second Team was also announced, along with a number of individual awards.

Rio Grande, which will face rival Point Park in the semifinal round of the KIAC Tournament on Thursday night in Pittsburgh, Pa., was represented on the second team by senior midfielder Melissa Dickerson (Little Hocking, OH) and sophomore defender Anna Martin (Clarksburg, OH).

Dickerson leads the RedStorm with five goals and is second in scoring with 11 points, while Martin has one goal this season.

Asbury (Ky.) University senior midfielder Teryn Wright was named the conference Offensive Player of the Year with 13 goals, seven assists and 33 points the year. She is second in the conference with 1.94 points per game and led the Eagles (12-4-1, 7-1 KIAC) to the KIAC regular season title and the No. 1 seed in the KIAC Tournament.

WVU Tech junior defender Shelby Swiney was the Defensive Player of the Year. She led the Golden Bears to a record of 13-5 overall and 5-3 KIAC. She had one assist and one point on the year and controlled the defense for WVU Tech.

Asbury’s Brooke Lincoln is the Coach of the Year after leading the Eagles to first place in the KIAC. As the No. 1 seed in the KIAC Tournament, Asbury will have home field advantage throughout the playoffs.

The Newcomer of the Year award went to Ohio Christian freshman forward Haylee Francis, who led the conference with 20 goals, 40 points and 2.22 points per game, while Point Park senior forward Beth Millican was the Comeback Player of the Year.

Millican, who has come back from multiple surgeries to rank fourth in the conference with 12 goals, 26 points and 1.53 points per game.

Asbury had a conference-high four players on the First Team, while Point Park and WVU Tech were next with three players each. Ohio Christian had two players make the first team, and Rio Grande and Cincinnati Christian had one player each.

Joining Crow, Wright, Swiney, Francis and Millican on the First Team were forwards Emily Hubbuch (AU) and Tristen Kilman (WVUT); midfielders Lexi Paas (OCU) and Ruby Bingham (WVUT); defenders Riley Smith (AU), Paige Manning (PPU) and Brandi Rice (CCU) and goalkeepers Brooke Perkins (AU) and Erica Roney (PPU).

Rio Grande’s Champion of Character recipient was freshman forward Sydney Johnson (Okinawa, Japan).

Randy Payton is the Sports Information Director at the University of Rio Grande.

By Randy Payton

For Ohio Valley Publishing