Rio’s Petty-Craft sets new school record at NAIA Championships

By Randy Payton - For Ohio Valley Publishing

PITTSBURG, Kan. — Tyanna Petty-Craft notched another All-American finish and set a new school record in the Women’s Pentathlon following Thursday’s action in the 53rd Annual NAIA Indoor Track & Field National Championships at the Robert W. Plaster Center.

The Somerset, Ohio senior piled up a school-record 3,592 points to take third place in the event. The top eight finishers earn All-American status.

Petty-Craft’s point total eclipsed her previous school record of 3,324 set earlier this season.

She won the 800-meter run portion of the competition with a time of 2:20.69, finished second in the high jump after clearing 1.67m, placed seventh in the both the 60-meter hurdles (9.19) and long jump (5.13m) and was eighth in the shot put with a toss of 9.45m.

Fellow senior Nikola Andjelic (Split, Croatia) had qualified third in the Men’s Heptathlon, but pulled out of the competition during its opening event – the 60-meter dash – with a foot injury.

On Friday, Rio freshman Cameron Haught (Enon, OH) finished 11th in the Men’s 3,000-meter race walk with a time of 14:35.28 and fellow frosh Zavien Parker (Pickerington, OH) failed to qualify for the Men’s 200-meter finals after placing 23rd in the preliminary round with a time of 22.47.

Also on Friday, senior Katie Browning (Athens, OH) placed 10th in the Women’s Pole Vault after clearing a height of 3.55m.

The championship meet wraps up on Saturday with two events involving representatives from Rio.

Senior Alex Nichols (Pickerington, OH) is in the men’s shot put at 1 p.m., while Petty-Craft is in the women’s high jump at 1:30 p.m.

Nichols qualified 26th with an effort of 15.46m and Petty-Craft was 11th among the qualifiers in her event with a mark of 1.65m. Petty-Craft is the defending national champion.

By Randy Payton

For Ohio Valley Publishing

Randy Payton is the Sports Information Director at the University of Rio Grande.

Randy Payton is the Sports Information Director at the University of Rio Grande.