Lewis headlines Rio honorees on All-RSC baseball team

By Randy Payton - For Ohio Valley Publishing

CHILLICOTHE, Ohio — University of Rio Grande senior Daryin Lewis earned Pitcher of the Year honors and a pair of spots on the All-River States Conference Baseball first team during an on-field awards ceremony at last weekend’s RSC Baseball Tournament at VA Memorial Stadium.

Lewis, a native of Circleville, Ohio, was named the league’s Pitcher of the Year with a record of 9-2 and a 2.16 earned run average following the conclusion of postseason play. He was also named to the All-RSC First Team both at pitcher and third base.

As a hitter, Lewis batted a team-high .362 with five homers and 37 runs batted in. He led the RedStorm in hits (64), while ranking second in RBI and doubles (12).

The conference honored 18 players on both the All-RSC First and Second Teams. Also named was the RSC Gold Glove team and the RSC Champions of Character Team.

Three other Rio Grande players – senior pitcher Trent Downs (Chillicothe, OH), senior outfielder Carlos Flores (Guayanilla, Puerto Rico) and junior outfielder Kameron Herring (Heath, OH) – were named to the first team, while the RedStorm was represented on the second team by junior pitcher Osvaldo Duran (Guayanilla, Puerto Rico), senior catcher Dan Crozier (Ballston Spa, N.Y.) and senior shortstop Luis Jimenez (Salinas, Puerto Rico).

Downs finished with a 10-2 record and a 2.63 ERA, tossing a team-high six shutouts and recording a team-best .212 opponent’s batting average. Flores hit .33 with a team-high eight home runs, four triples and 41 RBI, while Herring hit .355 with five home runs, 33 RBI and a team-best 18 stolen bases in 19 attempts.

Duran finished with a 7-2 record, a 3.24 ERA and a team-high 63 strikeouts in 75 innings pitched, while Crozier batted .323 with 12 doubles, three homers and 34 RBI. Jimenez hit .328 with a team-high 45 runs scored and 14 doubles.

Joining Rio’s quartet of selections to the first team were six players from RSC regular season champion Point Park University – pitchers Addison Domingo and Nolan Krivijanski, catcher Chris Hernandez, first baseman Emmanuel Lopez, outfielder Stefan Mrkonja and designated hitter Richard Perez.

Midway – which won the tournament title – and Indiana University Southeast each had three players on the first team. Pitchers James Davenport and Jake McCoy and utility player Hector Quinones represented Midway, while shortstop Richard Rodriguez, catcher Tanner Leenknecht and second baseman Logan Barnes represented IU Southeast.

WVU Tech center fielder Tanner LeVine took home top honors as the conference’s Player of the Year. The senior from Long Beach, Calif., was the leading hitter in the conference hitting .444 (83-for-187) with six homers and 51 RBIs. LeVine was one of four outfielders on the first team.

WVU Tech third baseman Jacob Reimold was named the Freshman of the Year as the top freshman vote-getter. The All-RSC second team selection hit a pair of home runs, including a two-out ninth inning long ball in the Golden Bears’ elimination game win over Rio Grande.

Point Park head coach Loren Torres claimed Coach of the Year honors. He led the Pioneers to the RSC regular-season title at 26-6 conference.

The RSC Gold Glove team, which chose the best defender at each position, included Rio’s Duran at pitcher and Flores among the outfield honorees.

The RSC Champions of Character Team recognized one player from each team who best exhibited the five character values of the NAIA’s Champions of Character program, which are respect, responsibility, integrity, servant leadership and sportsmanship. Downs represented Rio Grande on the list.

For a complete list of the All-RSC second team, the Gold Glove team and the Champions of Character honorees, visit www.riverstatesconference.com

Randy Payton is the Sports Information Director at the University of Rio Grande.

By Randy Payton

For Ohio Valley Publishing