RV’s Dovenbarger named D3 all-Ohio

By Paul Boggs - [email protected]

River Valley senior Jacob Dovenbarger captured Division III all-Ohio Honorable Mention boys basketball honors from the Associated Press.

River Valley senior Jacob Dovenbarger captured Division III all-Ohio Honorable Mention boys basketball honors from the Associated Press.

Paul Boggs/OVP Sports

COLUMBUS, Ohio — Truth be told, for the River Valley Raiders, “Dove” did most of the work.

As a result, River Valley senior boys basketball standout Jacob Dovenbarger was rightly rewarded on Tuesday — being named Division III all-Ohio Honorable Mention by the Associated Press.

Dovenbarger, standing six-foot and six-inches tall, automatically made Honorable Mention all-Ohio — thanks to landing second-team all-Southeast District.

He averaged 14.3 points per game, and earned all-Ohio accolades for the first and final time.

A double-double machine this season, Dovenbarger was the 9-15 Raiders’ top player — as River Valley nearly upset Oak Hill in the sectional championship tilt.

Three players from the Southeast District garnered higher than Special Mention, including Isaiah Howell of Fairland.

Howell, along with Paint Valley seven-footer Dylan Swingle, captured Co-Player of the Year honors for the Southeast District in Division III.

For Fairland, the Dragons will represent the Southeast District in this season’s state tournament on Friday.

Eric McLaughlin of Lynchburg-Clay, which reached the Division III state semifinals last season, claimed third team.

Versailles swept the all-state list’s top two awards — as Justin Ahrens was Co-Player of the Year, while Travis Swank was one of three Coaches of the Year.

Ahrens shared the top player honor with Ethan Linder of Wayne Trace, while Zach Ruth of Galion Northmoor and Derek Edwards of Martins Ferry were the co-coaches with Swank.

The AP all-Ohio girls and boys basketball teams are selected by a media panel throughout the Buckeye State, whose outlets must be affiliated with the Associated Press.

Those which make either first-team or second-team all-district automatically make — at least — either Special Mention or Honorable Mention all-Ohio.

The 2016-17 Associated Press Division III All-Ohio boys basketball team, based on the recommendations of a media panel (with school, height, class and scoring average):


First Team: Jay Joseph, Worthington Christian, 6-foot-4, senior, 16.1 points per game; Lukas Isaly, Hannibal River, 6-1, jr., 22.0; Derek Koch, West Salem Northwestern, 6-9, sr., 21.7; Jerry Higgins, Cleveland Villa Angela-St. Joseph, 5-9, jr., 16.3; Ethan Linder, Haviland Wayne Trace, 6-3, sr., 29.0; Isaiah Howell, Proctorville Fairland, 6-2, jr., 15.2; Dylan Swingle, Bainbridge Paint Valley, 6-11, jr., 21.3; Justin Ahrens, Versailles, 6-6, jr., 23.4; Anthony Masterlasco, Findlay Liberty-Benton, 6-4, sr., 25.1; Logan Newman, Louisville St. Thomas Aquinas, 6-0, sr., 16.7.

Second Team: Justin Anderson, Beverly Fort Frye, 6-2, sr., 23.3; Chase Yoho, Bellaire, 5-10, jr., 31.2; Tommy Bissler, Garrettsville Garfield, 6-1, sr., 17.1; Alonzo Gaffney, Cleveland Villa Angela-St. Joseph, 6-8, so., 12.7; Dakota Prichard, Spencerville, 6-4, sr., 18.9; Gunner Oakes, Swanton, 6-4, sr., 20.4; Ryan Lane, New London, 6-3, sr., 16.2; Caleb South, Tipp City Bethel, 6-1, jr., 24.6; Craig McGee, St. Bernard Roger Bacon, 6-0, sr., 12.9; Sam Martin, Cincinnati Summit Country Day, 5-10, sr., 16.0.

Third Team: Ronnie Rayburn, Richwood North Union, 6-5, sr., 19.9; Ty Hamsher, Garaway, 6-0, sr., 19.0; Tariq Drake, Leavittsburg LaBrae, 6-2, sr., 14.0; Jake Ford, New Middletown Springfield, 6-1, sr., 25.2; Dorian Crutcher, Elyria Catholic, 6-3, jr., 19.5; Donald Johnson, Oberlin, 6-4, sr., 18.0; Jacob Plantz, Genoa Area, 6-3, so., 18.1; Eric McLaughlin, Lynchburg-Clay, 6-5, jr., 20.4; Lorenzo Sparks, Cincinnati North College Hill, 6-0, jr., 20.0; Lucas Nasonti, Warren Champion, 5-10, sr., 23.0.

Co-Players of the year: Justin Ahrens, Versailles; Ethan Linder, Haviland Wayne Trace

Co-Coaches of the year: Zach Ruth, Galion Northmor; Travis Swank, Versailles; Derek Edwards, Martins Ferry

Special Mention: Breon Backus, Grandview Heights; Ross Ryan, Centerburg; Brady Thomas, Columbus Ready; Andrew Mason, Coshocton; Zac Selby, Martins Ferry; Turner Horn, Berlin Hiland; Kameron Shockley, Waterloo; Dan Ritter, Canfield South Range; Jayson Woodrich, Beachwood; Ronald Vann, Cleveland Martin Luther King Jr.; Bryce Williams, Archbold; Luke Thomas, Proctorville Fairland; Tanner Holden, Wheelersburg; Landon Carroll, Oak Hill

Honorable Mention: Ryan Alexander, Columbus Academy; Brian Collier, Grandview Heights; Joe Craycraft, Marion Pleasant; Brandon Estep, Johnstown Northridge; Jayden Turner, Worthington Christian; Chad Neisel, Magnolia Sandy Valley; Brenton Franks, Zoarville Tuscarawas Valley; Tyler Reddish, Cadiz Harrison Central; Keith Leindecker, West Lafayette Ridgewood; Ty Kildow, Belmont Union Local; Drew McKenzie, Zanesville West Muskingum; Luke Powell, Barnesville; Darius Ray, Martins Ferry; JoJo France, Manchester; Gabe Walker, Wooster Triway; Kaleb Bauman, Rittman; Daniel Zuchak, Rittman; Anthony Ritter, Canfield South Range; Brandon Youngstown Canfield South Range; Aaron Iler, Leavittsburg LaBrae; Brian Hiner, Brookfield; Jacob Reed, Smithville; C.J. Charleston, Gates Mills Gilmour Academy; Declan Kirincic, Gates Mills Gilmour Academy; Danny McGarry, Cleveland Villa Angela-St. Joseph; Jude Cunningham, Orwell Grand Valley; Emil Hess, Burton Berkshire; Joseph Vallery, Warrensville Heights; Bryce Ostheimer, Milan Edison; Tayte Lentz, Bloomdale Elmwood; Braxton Fasone, Van Buren; Hunter Sieben, Toledo Ottawa Hills; Kolden Uribes, Montpelier; Tyler Mescher, Maria Stein Marion Local; Jace Stockwell, Delphos Jefferson; Chace Harris, Albany Alexander; Jacob Dovenbarger, Bidwell River Valley; Gunner Short, Proctorville Fairland; Ethan Wilson, Ironton; Mason Darby, Ironton Rock Hill; Tayshaun Fox, South Point; Trey Postage, Frankfort Adena; Casey Moore, Piketon; Joe Giordano, Lynchburg-Clay; Kaden Coleman, Wheelersburg; Kendal Reynolds, Portsmouth; Matthew Gullett, Minford; Mitchell Hale, Oak Hill; Dalton Stewart, Brookville; Justin Flor, Carlisle; Alex Dahling, Cincinnati Summit Country Day; Trenton Weeks, Bethel Bethel-Tate; Tony Boddie, Dayton Stivers School for the Arts.

Paul Boggs can be reached at 740-446-2342, ext. 2106

River Valley senior Jacob Dovenbarger captured Division III all-Ohio Honorable Mention boys basketball honors from the Associated Press.
http://aimmedianetwork.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/14/2017/03/web1_3.23-RV-Dovenbarger.jpgRiver Valley senior Jacob Dovenbarger captured Division III all-Ohio Honorable Mention boys basketball honors from the Associated Press. Paul Boggs/OVP Sports

By Paul Boggs

[email protected]