Elections board releases candidate list

Lorna Hart - lhart@civitasmedia.com

POMEROY — The Meigs County Board of Elections released a list of certified candidates for the Nov. 3 General Election.

The following are certified township trustees and fiscal officers: Bedford Township: Trustee, John W. Dean and Michael A. York; Fiscal Officer, Barbara J. Grueser and Kathy J. Romine; Chester Township: Trustee, James B. Hawthorne and Elmer C. Newell; Fiscal Officer, Philip Raymond Werry; Columbia Township: Trustee, Rexie Cheadle, Fiscal Officer, Mary Wingo; Lebanon Township: Trustee, James R. Foreman and Gerrad Parry; Fiscal Officer, Brenda S. Johnson and Annette R. Vance; Letart Township: Trustee, Justin Hill, Zachary Manuel and Charles Wolfe, Jr.; Fiscal Officer, Jenny L. Manuel and Nathan W. Roush; Olive Township: Trustee, Randy Boston; Fiscal Officer, Tara Barton and Kaleen Hayman; Orange Township: Trustee, Rodney A. Tripp; Fiscal Officer, Alice L. Hawthorne and Deborah Watson; Rutland Township: Trustee, Joe M. Bolin and Brynn K. Sutphin; Fiscal Officer, Opal L. Dyer; Salem Township: Trustee, Cecil E. Johnston; Fiscal Officer, Carol A. Taylor; Salisbury Township: Trustee, John Hood; Fiscal Officer, Marilyn R. Anderson; Scipio Township: Trustee, Tammy Andrus, (unexpired term ending Dec. 31, 2017) and Randy Butcher; Fiscal Officer, Tina E. Cotterill; Sutton Township: Trustee, Shane S. Circle, Larry Ebersbach and Chuck Mugrage; Fiscal Officer, Joann Crisp.

Villages offices have the following certified candidates: Pomeroy Village: Mayor, Bryan Shank, Victor Young III; two village council positions: Brenda Barnhart, Maureen Hennessy, Donald A. May, Ruth Spaun; Racine Village: Mayor, Julian Scott Hill; two village council positions: Chad Hubbard and Jeffrey R. Morris; Rutland Village: Mayor, no candidate filed; two village council positions: Tyler M. Eblin; Syracuse Village: Mayor, Eric D. Cunningham; two village council positions: Wendy Egan Rhonda and R. Rathburn.

Middleport village candidates were certified as independent candidates on July 13 and include: Mayor, Mike Gerlach; two village council positions: James R. Buskirk, George A. Hoffman, Roger L. Manley Sr. and Shawn A. Rice.

All Meigs County school boards have candidates on the ballot and include Eastern Local: (three positions open), Brandon M. Buckley, Floyd D. Ridenour and Michael Adam Will; Meigs Local: (three positions open) Roger A. Abbott, Darin Logan, Todd Snowden and Larry D. Tucker; Southern Local: (two positions open), Gary D. Evans, Richard L. Wamsley II and Mony Wood.

Alexander Local School District has two open positions and candidates filed in Athens County.

Athens/Meigs Educational Service Center (ESC) filed in Athens County and have one position open for Alexander Local, Eastern Local, Meigs Local and Southern Local school districts.

A list of tax levies, state issues and write-in candidates on November’s ballot will be released later. Candidates have until 4 p.m. Aug. 24 to file a declaration of intent as a write-in and to pay their fees.

For more information, contact Meigs County Board of Elections at 740-992-2697, or visit www.electionsonthe.net/oh/meigs.

Contact Lorna Hart at 740-992-2155 Ext. 2551.

Lorna Hart