Early voting begins Wednesday in Meigs

What’s on the November ballot?

By Sarah Hawley - shawley@civitasmedia.com

POMEROY — As early and absentee voting kicks off today, here is a look at what is on the November general election ballot for Meigs County voters.

There are no contested in county races for local office holders. Candidates Randy Smith (commissioner), Michael Bartrum (commissioner), James K. Stanley (prosecutor), Sammi Sisson Mugrage (clerk of courts), Keith O. Wood (sheriff), Kay Hill (recorder), Peggy Yost (treasurer) and Eugene Triplett (engineer) are all running unopposed. There is no candidate for coroner.

That being said, there is still plenty for voters to decide on both at the local, state and national level.

Meigs County voters will select between candidates Jay Edwards (R) and Sarah Grace (D) for the 94th District House of Representatives.

For state senator in the 30th district candidates are Frank Hoagland (R) and Lou Gentile (D). Bill Johnson (R) and Michael Lorentz (D) are competing in the U.S. Representative 6th District race.

Statewide, voters will elect one person for United States Senator. Candidates are Rob Portman (R) and Ted Strickland (D), along with Green Party candidate Joseph DeMare and non-partisan candidates Tom Connors and Scott Rupert.

For President, voters will choose between the tickets of Democratic candidate Hillary Clinton and Tim Kaine, Republican candidate Donald Trump and Michael Pence, Green Party candidate Jill Stein and Ajamu Baraka, non-party candidate Gary Johnson and William Weld, and non-party candidate Richard Duncan and Ricky Johnson.

County-wide, there are two levies and electric aggregation for voters to consider.

The Meigs County Health Department has a 1-mill replacement levy on the ballot. Carleton School has a 2-mill renewal levy on the ballot. More on both of these levies will appear in upcoming editions of The Daily Sentinel.

Additionally, county voters will have the choice of joining an electric aggregation program. Aggregation allows for municipalities, or in this case the county, to pull together to negotiate a lower electric rate. Additional details and information regarding electric aggregation will appear in an upcoming edition.

Township levies for consideration on the November ballot include, Chester Township road improvement 1-mill replacement; Lebanon Township road maintenance 1.5 mills additional; Letart Township cemetery maintenance and operation 1-mill renewal; Olive Township cemetery maintenance and operation 1-mill renewal; Orange Township fire protection 1.5 mills replacement; Rutland Township road maintenance 2.16 mills renewal; Rutland Township cemetery maintenance and operation 0.3-mill renewal; Salem Township fire protection 1-mill renewal; Salem Township road maintenance 2.92 mills renewal; Salisbury Township fire protection 1-mill additional.

Village levies on the ballot include, Middleport Village police protection 2 mills renewal; Middleport Village current expenses 3 mills renewal; Middleport Village fire protection 2 mills renewal; Pomeroy Village cemetery maintenance and operation 1-mill renewal; Pomeroy Village fire protection 2-mill renewal; Pomeroy Village current expenses 1-mill renewal; Racine Village current expenses 1.7 mills replacement; Syracuse Village fire protection 1-mill replacement; Syracuse Village fire protection 0.5 mills replacement.

Alexander Local School District voters in Meigs, Vinton and Athens counties will be voting on a 1.5 percent earned income tax levy.

Absentee voting and/or early voting begins Oct. 12 and will continue daily at the Meigs County Board of Elections through Nov. 7.

The hours for early and absentee voting are as follows: Oct. 12-14, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Oct. 17-21, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Oct. 24-28, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Oct. 29, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Oct. 30, 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.; Oct. 31-Nov. 4, 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Nov. 5, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Nov. 7, 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.; with the last day to vote being Monday, Nov. 7, from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Any registered voter in the county may request and vote an absentee ballot (or provisional ballot beginning Oct. 12) in person during these business hours. Registered voters may also call the Meigs County Board of Elections at 740-992-2697 to request an absentee application to have an absentee ballot by mail.

The Board of Elections Office is now located at 113 E. Memorial Dr., Pomeroy.

What’s on the November ballot?

By Sarah Hawley