Racine Council looking to fill vacancy

Staff Report

RACINE — Racine Village Council is looking to fill a vacancy following the resignation of Councilman Jeff Morris.

At the May 6 meeting of Racine Village Council, the resignation of councilman Jeff Morris, effective that day, was accepted.

According to Ohio Revised Code, if council does not make appointment within 30 days, the Mayor shall make the appointment.

Anyone interested in filling the unexpired term is asked to submit a letter of interest by May 28 at the Village Office.

Fiscal Officer Janet Krider was authorized to obtain an amended certificate of funds from the County Auditor for FEMA and ODNR Grant funds.

Mayor Scott Hill reported that the condemnation had been posted on the abandoned residence on Elm Street and copy mailed to the registered owner of the property.

Funding was received from the Meigs County Community Fund and $13,000 from the Sisters Foundation for the splash park project. No word has been received from the Kibble Foundation.

Council approved the Mayor to order various items for the splash park project.

Hill also reported on the Elm Street sidewalk project that after several months delay he has finally received word from Frontier that a work order had been issued for the relocation of the telephone poles that are in the center of the new sidewalk

Hill reported that FEMA has finally given the oaky on the culvert project on Vine Street, but still no word from FEMA regarding the Star Mill Park walking track.

Council acknowledged receipt of the list of paid bills and financial statements and approved the minutes of the previous meeting.

Thanks were extended to the Southern High National Honor Society and Student Council for the work they did at the park as part of their community service project.

Councilwoman Ashli Peterman was given the okay to see about organizing a committee to have some activities at Star Mill Park July 4th evening. Anyone interested in helping is asked to contact Peterman.

Next regularly scheduled meeting is Monday, June 3, at 6:30 p.m.

Attending Mayor Scott Hill, Fiscal Officer Janet Krider, Village Administrator John Holman, Council Members Bob Beegle, Kevin Dugan, Ashli Peterman, and Ian Wise.

Information provided by Councilman Bob Beegle.

Staff Report