Voter registration deadline Oct. 9

Sarah Hawley is the managing editor of The Daily Sentinel.

By Sarah Hawley - [email protected]

POMEROY — The Meigs County Board of Elections has announced voter registration deadlines and early voting hours for the upcoming November election.

The last day to register to vote for the 2018 General Election is Oct. 9, by 9 p.m. Early/Absentee voting will begin on Oct. 10 at 8 a.m. at the Meigs County Board of Elections located at 113 E. Memorial Drive, Suite A, in Pomeroy.

The Meigs County Board of Elections will be open for voting the following dates and times: Wednesday through Friday, Oct. 10 to Oct. 12 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Monday through Friday, Oct. 15 t0 Oct. 19 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Oct. 22 to Oct. 26 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturday, Oct. 27 from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Oct. 29 to Nov. 2 from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturday, Nov. 3 from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday, Nov. 4 from 1-5 p.m.; and Monday, Nov. 5 from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.

On election day, Nov. 6, voting precincts and their locations are as follows: Bedford — Ohio Valley Christian Assembly Campgrounds, 39560 Rocksprings Road, Pomeroy; East/West Chester — Chester United Methodist Church, 26580 State Route 248, Chester; Columbia — Columbia Township Fire Department, 29466 State Route 143, Albany; Lebanon — Portland Community Center, 56896 State Route 124, Portland; Letart — East Letart United Methodist Church Building, 49018 East Letart Road, Racine; North Olive and Orange Precincts — Tuppers Plains St. Paul United Methodist Church, 42216 State Route 7, Tuppers Plains; South Olive — Long Bottom Community Building, 36709 Township Road 275, Long Bottom; Rutland Village, East Rutland and West Rutland Precincts — Rutland Church of the Nazarene Fellowship Hall, 460 Main Street, Rutland; Salem — Salem Center Fire Department, 28854 State Route 124, Langsville; Middleport 2nd, 3rd and 4th — Church of Christ Life Center, 437 Main Street, Middleport; Pomeroy 1st, 2nd and 3rd — Mulberry Community Center, 260 Mulberry Avenue, Pomeroy; Bradbury — Bradford Church of Christ Activity Building, 39105 Bradbury Road, Pomeroy; Laurel Cliff and Rocksprings — Meigs Local Administrative Office, 41765 Pomeroy Pike, Pomeroy; Scipio — Scipio Township Fire Department, 35575 Firehouse Road, Pomeroy; Racine Village and Racine Precinct — Racine Baptist Church Christian Outreach Center, 406 5th Street, Racine; and Syracuse Village and Minersville Precincts — Syracuse Village Community Building, 2244 7th Street, Syracuse.

Candidates and issues for the November Election are as follows:


Governor and Lieutenant Governor — Richard Cordray and Betty Sutton (D), Mike DeWine and Jon Husted (R), Constance Gadell-Newton and Brett R. Joseph (G), Travis M. Irvine and J. Todd Grayson (L);

Attorney General — Steve Dettelbach (D) and Dave Yost (R);

Auditor of State — Robert C. Coogan (L), Keith Faber (R), and Zach Space (D);

Secretary of State — Kathleen Clyde (D), Frank LaRose (R), and Dustin R. Nanna (L);

Treasurer of State — Rob Richardson (D) and Robert Sprague (R);

U.S. Senator — Sherrod Brown (D) and Jim Renacci (R);

Representative to Congress 6th District — Bill Johnson (R) and Shawna Roberts (D);

State Representative 94th District — Jay Edwards (R) and Taylor Sappington (D);

County Commissioner — Tim Ihle (R) and Moe Hajivandi (Write-in);

County Auditor — Mary T. Byer-Hill (R);

Member of the State Board of Education 8th District — Melissa M. Dahman, John P. Hagan, and Kathleen Purdy;

Justice of the Supreme Court — Craig Baldwin and Michael P. Donnelly;

Justice of the Supreme Court — Mary Degenaro and Melody J. Stewart;

Judge of the Court of Appeals 4th District — Marie Hoover and Jason P. Smith;

Judge of the Court of Appeals 4th District — Valarie K. Gerlach and Mike Hess;

Common Pleas Judge — Linda R. Warner (R);

County Court Judge — Michael L. Barr and Trenton J. Cleland.

Issues and Levies

State Issue 1 — Proposed Constitutional Amendment titled the Drug and Criminal Justice Policies Initiative;

County-wide Issue — Electric Aggregation;

Middleport Village — Additional 2.0 mills, for Police Protection;

Pomeroy Village — Electric Aggregation; Additional 2.0 mills for Police Protection; Additional 3.0 mills for Fire Protection;

Rutland Village — Additional 2.0 mills for General Operating Expenses;

Bedford Twp. — Renewal 0.5 mills for Fire Protection and Other Emergency Services;

Lebanon Twp. — Replacement 1.0 mills for Fire Protection;

Letart Twp. — Renewal 1.0 mills for Fire Protection;

Orange Twp. — Additional 2.0 mills for Road Maintenance;

Rutland Twp. — Renewal 1.0 mills for Fire Protection;

Salem Twp. — Additional 0.5 mills for Fire Protection;

Sutton Twp. — Additional 1.0 mills for Fire Protection;

Alexander Local School District — One Percent Income Tax;

Southern Local School District — Renewal 4.0 mills for current expenses.

List of candidates and issues as provided by the Meigs County Board of Elections.

Sarah Hawley is the managing editor of The Daily Sentinel.

By Sarah Hawley

[email protected]