Early voting begins Wednesday

POMEROY — Today (Tuesday) is the last day to register to vote in the November 2017 General Election, with early voting beginning on Wednesday.

Registration must be completed by 9 p.m. on Oct. 10, with early/absentee voting beginning at 8 a.m. on Oct. 11 at the Meigs County Board of Elections located at 113 E. Memorial Dr., Suite A, Pomeroy.

The Meigs County Board of Elections will be open for voting the following dates and times: Oct. 11-13 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Oct. 16-20 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Oct. 23-27 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Oct. 30-Nov. 3 from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturday, Nov. 4 from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday, Nov. 5 from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.; and Monday, Nov. 6 from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Voters in Meigs County will be deciding on three county-wide levies, one multi-county levy, several local and township levies, as well as village, township and school board officials.

Items and positions to be voted on include (according to a proclamation from the Board of Elections):

Mayor of Pomeroy (UTE 2019), Middleport Village Council, Pomeroy Village Council, Rutland Village Council, Racine Village Council, Syracuse Village Council, Bedford Township Trustee, Chester Township Trustee, Columbia Township Trustee, Lebanon Township Trustee, Lebanon Township Trustee (UTE 2019), Letart Township Trustee, Olive Township Trustee, Orange Township Trustee, Rutland Township Trustee, Salem Township Trustee, Salem Township Trustee (UTE 2019), Salisbury Township Trustee, Scipio Township Trustee, Sutton Township Trustee, Member of Governing Board of Educational Service Center At Large, Member of Governing Board of Educational Service Center Southern Local, Alexander Local School District Member of Education, Eastern Local School Board Member of Education, Meigs Local School Board Member of Education and Southern Local School Board Member of Education.

And determining the following questions or issues: State Issues — Issue 1 and Issue 2, Local Tax Levies — Proposed Bond Issue and Tax Levy, Rio Grande Community College Taxing District, Meigs County District Public Library, Meigs County Council on Aging, Chester Township, Columbia Township, Alexander Local School District (Columbia Precinct) (Athens, Meigs and Vinton Counties), Olive Township, Pomeroy Village (two levies), Proposed Local Liquor Option (Pomeroy 1st), Rutland Township, Sutton Township, Syracuse Village (two levies) and Syracuse Village Electric Aggregation.

As for voting on election day, voting precincts and their locations are as follows: Bedford — Ohio Valley Christian Assembly Campgrounds, 39560 Rocksprings Road, Pomeroy; East/West Chester — Chester United Methodist Church, 26580 State Route 248, Chester; Columbia — Columbia Township Fire Department, 29466 State Route 143, Albany; Lebanon — Portland Community Center, 56896 State Route 124, Portland; Letart — East Letart United Methodist Church Building, 49018 East Letart Road, Racine; North Olive and Orange Precincts — Tuppers Plains St. Paul United Methodist Church, 42216 State Route 7, Tuppers Plains; South Olive — Long Bottom Community Building, 36709 Township Road 275, Long Bottom; Rutland Village, East Rutland and West Rutland Precincts — Rutland Church of the Nazarene Fellowship Hall, 460 Main Street, Rutland; Salem — Salem Center Fire Department, 28854 SR 124, Langsville; Middleport 2nd, 3rd and 4th — Church of Christ Life Center, 437 Main Street, Middleport; Pomeroy 1st, 2nd and 3rd — Mulberry Community Center, 260 Mulberry Avenue, Pomeroy; Bradbury — Bradford Church of Christ Activity Building, 39105 Bradbury Road, Pomeroy; Laurel Cliff and Rocksprings — Meigs Local Administrative Office, 41765 Pomeroy Pike, Pomeroy; Scipio — Scipio Township Fire Department, 35575 Firehouse Road, Pomeroy; Racine Village and Racine Precinct — Racine Baptist Church Christian Outreach Center, 406 5th Street, Racine; and Syracuse Village and Minersville Precincts — Syracuse Village Community Building, 2244 7th Street, Syracuse.

A complete list of candidates for the November election is as follows:

Township Trustee (two to be elected)

Bedford — Shawn Hawley, Eldon Leon Sauters and Bob Jones.

Chester — Jeromee Calaway, Paul Morrison, James Hawthorne and Alan Holter.

Columbia — Marco Jeffers, Gary Carr, Thomas A. Smith Sr. and Don Cheadle.

Lebanon — Gary Cooper, Vincent Gray, Gerrad Perry, David Rose and Donald Dailey.

Lebanon (unexpired term end 2019, one to be elected) — Matthew Evans.

Letart — Dave Graham and Michael Roush.

Olive — Austin Bailey, William Osborne, L. Brian Collins and Larry Life.

Orange — Michael Guess, Chad Nelson and Roger Ritchie.

Rutland — Jamie Fortner, David Davis and Steve Lambert.

Salem — Jack Ervin, Eddie Howery and H. Dannie Lambert.

Salem (unexpired term end 2019, one to be elected) — Rebecca Johnston.

Salisbury — Bill Spaun and Robert Ball.

Scipio — Tammy Andrus and Roger Cotterill.

Sutton — Howard “Buddy” Ervin, Joseph Nottingham, James (Tony) Carnahan, Adam Johnson, Alan Crisp and Larry Smith.

Village Council (four to be elected)

Middleport (May filing deadline) — Sharon Older; write-in candidates: Ruby Vaughan, Emerson Heighton, Carolyn French and Brian Conde.

Pomeroy — Nicholas Michael, Victor Young III, Brian Young, Thomas Proffitt and Philip Ohlinger.

Racine — Ashli Peterman, Ian Wise and Robert Beegle; write-in candidate: Kevin Dugan.

Rutland — Stephanie Dillon, Kip Grueser and Kimberly Wilford.

Syracuse — Barry McCoy, David Poole, Michelle White, Eber Pickens Jr. and Tom Weaver; write-in: Casey Pickens.

Village Mayor

Pomeroy (unexpired term end 2019) — Don Anderson

Board of Education

Eastern (two to be elected) — Sammi Mugrage and Amanda Reed.

Meigs (two to be elected) — Heather Hawley, Jayson Tillis, Ryan Mahr and Steven Vance.

Southern (three to be elected) — Dennis Teaford and Brenda Johnson; write-in: Kent Wolfe, Thomas Woods, Tom Theiss and Don Smith.

Athens-Meigs ESC Board (Southern) — write-in: Mony Wood.

In addition to the candidates, there are several local issues and levies to appear on the ballot, in addition to two statewide issues.

Levies and Issues

Levies and Issues approved by the Secretary of State’s Office for ballot placement are as follows:

Meigs County Sheriff’s Office and Correctional Facility — 2.95 mill, new levy with the intent to sell bonds for the construction and operation of the proposed 71-bed correctional facility and administrative offices.

Meigs County Senior Center (Council on Aging) — 1.6 mill additional levy. This levy will replace two expiring levies, valued at 1.1 mill and .5 mill, which expire at the end of this year, according to Executive Director Beth Shaver.

Meigs County District Public Library — 1 mill renewal for current expenses. This levy was first approved by voters in 2012.

Rio Grande Community College — 1 mill replacement. This levy would replace a levy approved by voters in the mid-1970s, bringing the tax collected to current property values, rather than the values from the 1970s.

Pomeroy Village — Current Expenses, 1.9 mill renewal; Fire Protection, 1 mill renewal.

Syracuse Village — Current Expenses, 1 mill renewal; Police Protection, 2 mill renewal; Electric Aggregation.

Chester Twp. — Fire Protection, 2 mill replacement.

Sutton Twp. — Current Expenses, 0.4 mill additional.

Columbia Twp. — Road Maintenance, 1.2 mill renewal.

Olive Twp. — Road Maintenance, 2 mill renewal.

Rutland Twp. — Cemetery Operations, 1 mill renewal.

Eagles of Pomeroy — A local option to allow the Sunday sale of liquor at the Eagles in Pomeroy.



Staff Report