Candidates, levies, and local option filed for Nov. ballot

MEIGS COUNTY — Numerous candidates have filed petitions for races around the county which are to be voted on in the November general election leading up to Wednesday’s filing deadline.

Petitions filed by candidates, along with levies and local options, will be reviewed for certification during the Aug. 21 meeting of the Meigs County Board of Elections.

Each village is to elect four village council positions, townships are to elect two trustees and Meigs and Eastern school boards are to elect two members each, with Southern to elect three.

Voters in the village of Pomeroy and Salem Township will each be voting to fill unexpired terms, in addition to the races which were scheduled for the November ballot.

The village of Pomeroy is the lone village in the county which will be electing a Mayor in November, as the village votes to fill the unexpired term created by the resignation of Mayor Bryan Shank.

Don Anderson, who is currently the acting mayor, was the lone individual to file for the position.

In Salem Township, voters will be filling the unexpired term of Cecil Johnston who passed away earlier this summer. Johnston’s wife, Rebecca Johnston, is the lone person to file for the position.

If all of the petitions filed are approved, voters in Pomeroy and Syracuse will have contested races for village council. Five individuals have filed in both villages, with four to be elected.

Likewise, Meigs Local Board of Education would be a contested race with four candidates for the two seats to be elected.

Currently, if all petitions are certified, there would be contested races in Lebanon, Bedford, Sutton, Olive, Rutland, Orange, Chester and Salem townships.

In the villages of Racine and Rutland, three people have filed for the four seats to be elected.

As of Tuesday, Middleport also is short on the number of individuals to be elected who will appear on the ballot. Only one candidate for Middleport Village Council, Sharon Older, was certified following the May deadline for the seats.

The write-in deadline for candidates for the November election is Aug. 28.

Filings as of the deadline of 4 p.m. on Aug. 9, as provided by the Meigs County Board of Elections, were as follows:

Village Mayor

Pomeroy — Don Anderson.

Village Council

Pomeroy (four to be elected) — Nicholas Michael, Victor Young, Brian Young, Thomas Proffitt and Phil Ohlinger.

Racine (four to be elected) — Robert Beegle, Ashli Peterman, and Ian Wise.

Rutland (four to be elected) — Kip Grueser, Stephanie Dillon and Kimberly Wilford.

Syracuse (four to be elected) — Eber Pickens Jr., David Poole, Thomas Weaver, Barry McCoy and Michelle White.

School Board

Eastern (two to be elected) — Amanda Reed and Sammi Mugrage.

Meigs (two to be elected) — Steven Vance, Heather Hawley, Ryan Mahr and Jayson Tillis.

Southern (three to be elected) — Brenda Johnson, Dennis Teaford and David Acree.

Educational Service Center (Southern) — Mony Wood.

Township Trustee

Bedford — Eldon Sauters, Bob Jones and Shawn Hawley.

Chester — Alan Holter, Jeromee Calaway, James Hawthorne and Paul Morrison.

Columbia — Thomas Smith Sr. and Don Cheadle.

Lebanon — Vincent Gray, Donald Dailey, Matthew Evans, Gary Cooper, Gerrad Parry, and David Rose.

Letart — Michael Roush and Dave Graham.

Olive — Larry Life, Austin Bailey, L. Brian Collins and William Osborne.

Orange — Michael Guess, Chad Nelson and Roger Ritchie.

Rutland — Joseph Fortner, David Davis and Steve Lambert.

Salem (unexpired term) — Rebecca Johnston.

Salem — H. Dannie Lambert, Eddie Howery and Jack Ervin.

Salisbury — Bill Spaun and Robert Ball.

Scipio — Roger Cotterill and Tammy Andrus.

Sutton — Adam Johnson, James Carnahan, Alan Crisp, Howard Ervin and Larry Smith.

Local Option

The Eagles of Pomeroy has filed a local option to permit the sale of wine, mixed beverages and spirituous liquor on Sundays from 10 a.m. to midnight.

Levies and Issues

Meigs County Council on Aging — A 1.6 mill additional for five years. This levy is a combined value of two expiring levies which would have been up for renewal this year (a 1.1 mill and a 0.5 mill). The agency instead elected to submit the levy as one for the combined valley.

Meigs County District Public Library — A 1 mill, five year renewal. This is a renewal of the levy first approved by the voters five years ago.

Meigs County Sheriff’s Office and Correctional Facility — A 2.95 mill bond issue and levy is for the construction (and related work) and operation of a proposed 71-bed correctional facility and administrative offices.

Rio Grande Community College — A 1 mill replacement levy would replace the college’s current levy which was put in place in the mid-1970s. This is to be voted on in four counties in the region.

Chester Twp. — A 2 mill replacement levy for fire protection.

Syracuse Village — An action for electric aggregation in the village will be decided on by the voters. Similar actions have been put before voters in Racine and Pomeroy in recent years.

Syracuse Village — A 1 mill current expenses renewal levy.

Syracuse Village — A 2 mill renewal for police protection.

Olive Twp — A 2 mill renewal for road in the township.

Columbia Twp. — A 1.2 mill renewal for road maintenance.

Rutland Twp. — A 1 mill renewal for cemetery operation and maintenance.

Sutton Twp. — A 0.40 mill additional current expenses levy.


By Sarah Hawley



Sarah Hawley is the managing editor of The Daily Sentinel.