Southern approves contract renewals

Staff Report -

RACINE — The Southern Local Board of Education approved numerous contract renewals during its recent board meeting.

Tricia McNickle was awarded a five-year contract as an Elementary Principal.

A five-year contract was awarded to Carissa Bailey.

Three-year contracts were awarded to Rachel Cornell, Ryan Davis, Jenna Meeks, Dawn Hill, Erin Lisle and Chris Stout.

Two-year contracts were awarded to Leslie Dunfee, Sharon Gantt, Megan Hendrix, Kevin Porter, Calee Pickens and Ashley Zielinski.

One-year contracts were awarded to Brain Allen, Daniel Buckley, Russ Fields, Olivia Hawley, Adam Phillips, Jennifer Riffle, Amanda Rinaldi, William Whitlock, Andrea Wiseman and Heather Dailey-Johnson.

Cody Patterson was given a continuing contract as a classified employee in accordance with the OAPSE negotiated agreement.

Kayte Manuel was hired on a one year contract for the 2017-18 school years as the high school Spanish teacher.

The transfer of Jenni Roush to a second grade position was approved.

A sabbatical leave for Ryan Davis was approved for the 2017-18 school year.

Scott Wolfe was rehired on a one-year contract at his current salary and position.

The non-renewal of contracts with Kent Wolfe and Brian Weaver were approved due to the expiration of grant funding at the end of the school year.

Carmen Adkins was approved on a continuing contract as the assistant to the treasurer.

Unpaid leave days were approved for Courtney Ginther on April 26, 27 and 28.Letters of resignation were accepted from Doug Devor (high school social studies), Kevin Vernon (high school Spanish), Carrie Gardner (second grade), Amelia Maxson (long-term substitute), and Mike Ramthun (physical education).

Seniors approved for graduation include, Ashley Paige Acree, Katelyn Brice Barton, Jaylen Todd Ashton Blanks, Tylar Montell Blevins, Clayton Cash Boso, Abbigaile Isabella Carsey, Wesley Kent Clark, Kody Russell Greene, Gage Allen Hensley, Colten Ray Holbrook, Michaela Ann Holter, Eli Franklin Hunter, Lucas Waid Hunter, Connor Braxton Jarrell, Trey Odell Pickens, Brody Jaimz Richards, Crenson Alexander Rogers, Trent Allen Rossiter, Nicholas Adam Roush, Tammara Lynn Sayre, Sara Elizabeth Schenkelberg, Sierra Shae Cleland, Amanda Kaylee Cole, Curtis Matthew Counts, Bailey Rose Davis, Crysta Jo Davis, Talon Quinn Drummer, Daniel Ryan Dunfee, Michael Shawn Ferrell, Jordan Joel Fisher, Steven Michael George Coalton Blake Johnson, Marissa Ann Johnson, Macey Lynn Marcinko, Marlee Hope Maynard, David Cy McMillan, Macie Alexandra Michael, Haden Bradley Miller, Collin Jeffrey Morris, Cheyanne Musser, Larissa Marie Petrie, Kamryn Nicole Smith, Meghan Michelle Stover, Faith Elizabeth Teaford, Logan Christian Theiss, Tanner Mathew Thorla, Tyler Ryan VanInwagen, Jacob Daniel Weddle, Edgar Daniel Willis II, Clayton Monroe Wood, and Brianna Nicole Crisp.

May 26 was approved as a professional development day with students not in attendance.

The board approved the school based health clinic to be open on Mondays during the summer for acute care visits, immunizations, labs, preschool physicals, and DOT/bus driver physicals.

The board approved the purchase of Journeys 2017 K-6 and Collections 2017 7-10 language arts textbooks and materials in the amount of $96,576.85.

A $2,500 grant was accepted from the National Archery in the Schools Program and a fund established for the funds.

A Master Service Agreement Core Services (Schedule I) was approved with Meta Solutions for fiscal year 2018 in the amount of $11,620.50. Services include student information services support (Infinite Campus, etc.) EMIS support, and others.

Ohio University athletic training services were approved at a cost of $10,800.

A 36-month agreement was approved with ValTech Communications for telephone system replacement.

Repairs in the amount of $18,066.70 were approved for the chilled water coil in the McQuay AHU-1 at the high school.

The National Honor Society handbook was approved as presented by the NHS officers and recommended by the superintendent.

Revised permanent appropriations were approved in the amount of $12,815,965.03 as presented by the treasurer.

The transfer of $4,208 from the general fund to the severance fund was approved.

Donations were accepted as follows: $150 from Morning Star UMC to the high school principal fund; $50 from Brenda Johnson for K-8 Playground; $500 from AEP for K-8 playground.

The board accepted $500 from Ohio Power Company for the AEP Teacher Vision Grant.

The first reading of revised and new policies were approved as presented.

Staff Report