Eastern Board approves contracts

Staff Report - TDSnews@civitasmedia.com

REEDSVILLE — The Eastern Local Board of Education approved numerous contracts during its recent meeting.

Two year contracts were approved with certified staff members Amelia Davis, Nathan Jeffers, Terry Reed, Melissa Roush, Dezere Martin, Amber Ridenour, Charles Robinson, Sara Will and Shandi Sargent.

Classified staff receiving two year contracts were Cheryl Lyons, William Johnson and Romayne Martindale.

Three year contracts were awarded to certified staff members Douglas Dunn, Katherine Ihling, Macyn Baylor, Angie Weeks. Five year contracts were awarded to certified staff members Sharon Logan, Mary Ann Moore, William Francis.

Classified staff awarded continuing contracts were Marlin Evans, Patricia Nutter, Juli Well.

The board approved the non-renewal of all supplemental contracts for the 2016-17 school year effective at the end of the school year in accordance with Article 13.03 of the Master Agreement between the Eastern Local Education Association and the Eastern Local Board of Education.

Employment of paraprofessionals Kathy Barrett, Tammy Browning, Paula Buckley, Janet Hoffman, Cynthia Lambert, Lesa Sidwell, Lori Mugrage were non-renewed due to lack of federal funding. There is reasonable assurance from the Eastern Local Board of Education for rehiring them in the same capacity for the 2017-18 school year should funding be available.

The following certified and classified substitutes for the 2017-18 school year on an as needed basis pending proper certification: Certified: John Bailey, John Bell, Elizabeth Blanchard, Robert Brooks, Cynthia Chadwell, Pam Douthitt, Erica Exline, Cynthia Facemyer, Betsy Jones, Kay Long, Joseph McCall, Braden Prater, Nancy Scarbrough, Jack Sigman Jr., Jack Sigman Sr., Jessica Simons, Charlene Smith, Susan Tuttle, Randy Wachter, Debbie Weber, Talia Will, Richard Wilson; Classified: Mary Bradbury, Larry Cowdery, Hazel Guess, Frances Harrison, Marandia Johnson, Susan Karr, Shilo Little, Robert Lute, Ryland Michael, Frances Moxley, Joe Parker, Connie Rankin, Leslie Rayburn, Arch Rose, Gregory Satterfield, Sherri Sisson.

The board approved a tentative list of senior students for graduation on May 21. Students include, Grace Ranae Adams, Hannah Dawn Bailey, Katlyn Marie Barber, Brooke Ashley Bearhs, Gary Michael Blankenship, Cody William Brooks, McKenzie Kory Browning, Danielle Rose Burrelli, Kaytlin Renee Carl, Corbett James Catlett, Jordan Wyatt Chadwell, Katelynn Ann Chevalier, Charles Bret Cleland, Jessica Sharon Coleman, Katelyn Nicole Edwards, Jett Pratt Facemyer, Matthew Kyle Frank, Abbie Nicole Hawley, Alia Grace Hayes, Austin Michael Heater, Amber Lee Holland, Jeffrey Hunter Kauff, Kelsey Jo Kimes, Jacob Aaron Laudermilt, Sabrina Rose Lauer, John Casten Little, Jeremiah Lyman Martindale, Makenna Rose McGrath, Tyler James Misner, Austin Trever Murphy, Jeremy Taylor Nelson, Taylor Dawn Parker, Laura Elizabeth Pullins, Hunter Colton Reed, Clayton Wayne Ritchie, Taylynn Faith Rockhold, Gracie Ellen Roush, Hannah Morgan Sharp, Meghan Hope Short, Mickayla Marie Starcher, Amber Bree Sturgeon, Ashley Nicole Tolliver, Jonathan Dory Wolfe, Brody Warren Wood.

Patrick Martin addressed the board regarding the Big Bend Youth League. Martin came to the Board to ask for naming rights of one of the ball fields owned by the district located here in Tuppers Plains (behind the administration building). The organization wants to name the field after Pat Carroll who recently passed away. No action was taken on the matter.

Tyler Brothers and Jessie Farley were approved as substitute teachers for the remainder of the year.

A student and chaperone list was approved for the 8th grade trip to Washington D.C.

The board approved minutes of the previous meeting, financial reports and amended permanent appropriations.

Open enrollment students were approved as submitted.

The board approved the district to participate in the State of Ohio Cooperative Purchasing Program.

A donation of a JUGS Softball Pitching Machine with 12 inch chute and transport cart from the Eastern Eagles Athletic Boosters was accepted.

A resolution was approved accepting the amounts and rates as determined by the Budget Commission and authorizing the necessary tax levies and certifying them to the county auditor for tax collection year 2017.

A purchase service agreement was approved with Meta Solutions for internet access for the period of July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2022.

A purchase service agreement was approved with Spectrum Enterprise for full fiber PRI 23 call channels for a 36 month period.

The next meeting of the board is set for 6:30 p.m., Wednesday, May 17, 2017, in the library conference

Staff Report