Commissioners hold organizational meeting

POMEROY — The Meigs County Commissioners held their annual organizational meeting on Monday, making appointments to various position and scheduling meetings for the upcoming year.

Commissioner Mike Bartrum was elected to serve as President of the Board of Commissioners for 2017, with Randy Smith to serve as vice president. Tim Ihle is the third member of the board.

“It is a honor and privilege to be President of the Board,” said Bartrum.

Following the election of the positions, the commissioners appointed individuals to fill multiple roles in the county.

Reappointed to their same positions were the following: Chris Shank, Director of Job and Family Services; Robbie Jacks, EMS Director; Shannon Spaun, Jeff Mitchell, and Margaret Burkhamer, county maintenance personnel; April Burnem, commissioner’s clerk; Betsy Entsminger, grants administrator; Vickie Cundiff, workers comp coordinator; Ed Werry and Dan Nease, plat office; Jamie Jones, EMA Director; Coleen MurphySmith, dog warden.

Ed Newman was appointed as the apiary inspector, replacing Everett Holmes who has served in the position for decades. Newman met with the commissioners late last year to express interest in the position as Holmes is unable to continue in the role.

Weekly meetings were set for 11 a.m. on Thursdays. Should the courthouse be closed on the regular meeting day due to weather or another emergency situation, the meeting would be rescheduled for 11 a.m. on the next available business day.

The commissioners noted that the courthouse is closed if the county is placed under a Level 3 Snow Emergency. Otherwise, all closures of the courthouse (outside of those in the policy manual) require the approval of two commissioners or two judges. This is in accordance with state guidelines.

In other business, bills were approved in the amount of $73,573.44 with $44,350.32 from the county general fund.