Tucker re-appointed to OSBA executive committee

Staff Report - TDSNews@civitasmedia.com

ROCKSPRINGS — A local school board member has been appointed to the executive committee for the Southeast Region of the Ohio School Boards Association.

Larry D. Tucker, a member of the Meigs Local Board of Education, has been re-appointed to serve a two-year term on the executive committee. Tucker was appointed to the same position for a term beginning on Jan. 1, 2015.

The executive committee serves as the governing body for the 18-county region and meets four times a year. The committee determines policy for the region and plans programs and activities designed to carry out the purposes of the association.

Tucker’s new term as the Meigs County representative begins on Jan. 1, 2017. Tucker had previously served the OSBA on the arrangements and hospitality team.

The Southeast Region membership is comprised of 16 city districts, five exempted village districts, 48 local districts, nine vocational school districts and six educational services centers with a total of 84 member boards of education as well as nearly 400 board members and over 119,000 students.

The Ohio School Boards Association, founded in 1955, is the state association to elected school board members and provides in-service training, workshops, consultations and contract services for financial planning, insurance, utility pooling, contract negotiations and search services for vacant administrator services, as well as lobbying at the state and federal levels for public education.

Staff Report