Pomeroy Alumni hold annual banquet

POMEROY — The annual Pomeroy High School Alumni Banquet was held Saturday, May 27, 2017 in the Meigs High School Cafeteria with approximately 165 alumni and guests in attendance.

The cafeteria was decorated with purple and white flowers and balloons donated by Francis Florists and Bob’s Market and Greenhouses.

William Young, Class of 1961, President of the alumni association, was master of ceremonies. The meeting opened with the Pledge to the flag led by Norman Price (1961), followed by group singing of the Purple and White, led by June Whaley Van Vranken, (1948). The invocation before the meal was given by Joe Kennedy (1958).

Following the banquet meal, classes were recognized, beginning with the Class of 1938: Sara Hawk Cullums, Pomeroy; Class of 1939: Mildred Thoma Ziegler and June Forbes Sayre, Pomeroy.

Class of 1942 (75th Anniversary): David Holter, Pandora Strickland Collins and June Forbes Reuter, Pomeroy. Class of 1943: Belva Young Glaze. Class of 1944: Betty Couch Thomas, Powell, Ohio. Class of 1946: Howard Mullen, Pomeroy.

Class of 1947 (70th Anniversary): Ida Johnson Murphy and Joseph Struble, Pomeroy. Class of 1948: Nelda Drenner Mockey, Hickory, N.C.; William Knight, Point Pleasant, W.Va.; Richard Struble, Kenneth Harris and June Whaley VanVranken, Pomeroy. Class of 1949: Martha Terrell Struble, Pomeroy. Class of 1950: Betty Knight Genheimer, Point Pleasant, W.Va.

Class of 1952 (65th Reunion): Guy Guinther, Gallipolis; Pearl Richard Gilkey, Mason, W.Va.; Harry Lew Brown, Orange, Texas; Steven Hill, Moorpark, Cal.; Mary Drake Higgins, Delaware, Ohio; Ann Piersall Persinger, Mt. Hope, W.Va.; Phyllis Meier May, Pomeroy; Shirley Beegle Huston, Syracuse. Class of 1953: Sue Struble Tubbs. Class of 1955: Stacie Arnold, Harley Johnson and Tom Smith, Pomeroy; William Hysell, Columbus; Flora Hayes Karnes, Logan; Marlene Brown Rinehart, Albany; Ray Shasteen, The Villalges, Fla. Class of 1956: Mary Scott Wise and Iris Qualls Payne, Middleport; Carolyn Brown Charles,; David Riggs, Pomeroy; and Dorothy Stark Amberger, Syracuse.

Class of 1957 (60th Anniversary): Ted Beegle, Worthington; Bob Roberts, Uniontown, Ohio; Ray Johnson, Deland, Fla.: Ruth Horak Barga, Sydney, Ohio; Brenda Strauss Eimer, Circleville; Janet Struble Williamson, Rutland,; Arthur Arnold, Prosperity, S.C.; Judy Spencer King, Radford Va.; Carolyn Sisson Teaford, Lila Terrell Mitch, Rita Ball Matthews, Edith Riggs Heckert, Dan Morris, Carol Curtis Riggs, April Shasteen Smith, Pomeroy. Class of 1958: Marcia Grueser Arnold and Jerry Fields, Pomeroy; Joe Kennedy, Belpre. Class of 1959: Patricia Blakeslee Circle, Olathe, Kan.; Betty Hamm Johnson, Deland, Fla.; Kathryn Slack Johnson, Gene Romine and Leon Sauters, Pomeroy. Class of 1960: Vincent Knight, Barbara Eskew Fields, Pomeroy; Paul Roush, Tuppers Plains; Sharon Douglas Swindell, Shade. Class of 1961: Norman Price, William Young, Ben Ewing, Wallace Hatfield and Paula Sayre Welker, Pomeroy; Don Sayre, Merritt Island, Fla.; Mike Roberts, Akron.

Class of 1962 (55th Reunion): Jean Casto Hilton, Parkersburg, W.Va.; Anita Russell Neutzling, Wadsworth; Mike Werry, Belpre, Judy Hewetson Dixon and Christine Faber Sauters, Pomeroy. Class of 1963: Judith Wehrung Sisson and Charlene Diehl Rutherford, Pomeroy. Class of 1964: Yvonne Beal Young, Don Mayer and Donna Smith Hatfield, Pomeroy; Jennifer Crew Solomon, Chester, S.C.; and Ronald Collins, Austin, Texas. Class of 1965: Bonnie Smith Little Hocking; Carla Will Werry, Belpre; Susanna Arnold Fitzgerald, The Villages, Fla.; George Harris, Jr., Middleport, John Curd, Donna Hauck Carr, Linda Darnell Mayer, Don Cullums and Joan Hewetson Anderson, Pomeroy. Class of 1966: Jay Russell, Medina; Rex Cummings, Syracuse, Linda Reuter Barber, Bill Francis, Guy Sargent and Sharon Biggs, Pomeroy.

Class of 1967 (50th Anniversary): William Radford, Columbus; Jennifer Blakeslee Butcher, Rockport, Ind.: Mary Francis Rose, Longwood, Fla.; Naomi Smith Worley, Daniels, W.Va.: Judith King Comer, Sarasota, Fla.; Ronald Logan, Linda Will Gilkey, Michael Wright, Middleport; Sandra Beal Bailey, Polk City, Fla.; Nancy Titus Karnes, Austin, Texas; Peggy Hoffner Stout, Syracuse; Debra Spencer, Susan Dixon Mash, Pomeroy; Judith Smith Bunner, Decatier, Ind.

The business meeting included the announcement of officers elected for 2017. They are: William Young, President; William Francis, Vice President; Marcia Grueser Arnold and Thelma Davis Jeffers, secretary-treasurers.

The Executive Committee elected are Mary Scott Wise, April Shasteen Smith, Judy Wehrung Sisson, Lila Terrell Mitch, Charlene Diehl Rutherford and Carol Strauss Kennedy.

The Advisory Committee elected Norman Price, Carolyn Sisson Teaford, Jean Casto Hilton, Ed Kennedly and JoAnne Williams.

A humorous reading was presented by Jean Casto Hilton and William Francis read a poignant letter to Pomeroy High School from the late Forrest Ward who was the senior homeroom and chemistry teacher for many years.

Scholarship winners were announced. (This information will appear in an upcoming edition of The Daily Sentinel.)

Singing of the Alma Mater and the benediction by Joe Kennedy closed the event. Group photos were taken of reunion classes were taken.