Bitanga’s Martial Arts Center holds spring belt exam

Participants in the 4 p.m. test group.

Participants in the 4 p.m. test group.

Participants in the 11 a.m. test group.

MIDDLEPORT — Recently, 46 students at Bitanga’s Martial Arts Center in Middleport, tested to receive their next belt and to compete for the top five places.

Judges in attendance were, Sensei Donald Bitanga, Head Instructor Benjamin Nease, Assistant Instructors Jessica Coleman and Cindy Bowlings, and guest judge and Taichi instructor, Richard Chambers. Due to the large turnout of eligible students for testing; the event was divided into two groups. Over 250 spectators were in attendance for these events.

Students promoted to yellow belt include Collin Smith, Jackson Glaze, Mya Enslen, Cord Slone, Aggie Slone, Collin Hash, Briston Rood, Paige Dowell, Zakaria George, Kyndall Beaver, and Dakota Scarberry.

Students promoted to orange belt were Claire Ohlinger, Griffin Ohlinger, Waylon Smith, Matthew Bell, Sean Hornsby, Lincoln Milliron, Brodey Weaver, Jillian Love, Bradlee Molden, Kara Lucas, Derek Smith, and Elijah Horner.

Students promoted to purple belt include Sam Clagg, Brody Saunders, Tressel Gibbs, Laila Gibbs, Conner Hash, Elliote Grate, AJ Newell, Moe Hajivandi, Walker Stanhope, Lyndee Taylor, and Faith Hajivandi.

Green belt promotions include Blake Cremeans, Lane Grate, Hunter Moore, and Raeline Reeves.

Kilah Kuhn was promoted to blue belt. Promoted to blue belt with single red stripe are Cadem Gibbs, Jace Cyrus, Dalen Gibson, Kailynn Weaver, Claire Hash, and Catherine Haggy. Cody Hash received his blue belt with the second red stripe.

Adam Badran was promoted to the second degree brown belt. Senior student Wesley Collins passed his second preparatory test for his black belt. He has one preparatory test remaining before testing for first degree black belt.

For the 11 a.m. group test Faith Hajivandi received fourth place, Adam Badran third place, Elijah Horner second place, Wesley Collins first place, and Catherine Haggy took home “best of test”. Recipients of the “outstanding student award” which is based on overall improvement during the three month training period were Claire Hash, Walker Stanhope, Dalen Gibson, Cadem Gibbs, and Dakota Scarberry.

At the end of the 4 p.m. group test, Brodey Weaver received fourth place, Paige Dowell third place, Zakaria George second place, Elliotte Grate first place, and AJ Newell was the winner of the “best of test” trophy. For the younger group, recipients of the “outstanding student award” were Aggie Slone, Conner Hash, Claire Ohlinger, Cord Slone, Griffin Ohlinger, and Lincoln Milliron.

Participants in the 4 p.m. test group. in the 4 p.m. test group.

Participants in the 11 a.m. test group. in the 11 a.m. test group.