8 locals named to district soccer teams

By Bryan Walters - bwalters@civitasmedia.com

Ohio Valley Christian School senior Marshall Hood makes a save during the Defenders’ game against Calvary on Oct. 9 in Gallipolis, Ohio.

Donald Lambert/OVP Sports

A total of eight players from the Ohio Valley Publishing area were selected to the 2015 Southeast District Ohio Scholastic Soccer Coaches Association all-district teams, as voted on by the coaches withing the district.

Both Gallia Academy and Ohio Valley Christian came away with four selections apiece in their respective divisions, with each program garnering one first team, one second team and a pair of honorable mention choices.

Starting with the Blue Devils in Division II, senior Logan Carpenter was a first team selection and senior Zach Johnson was a second team honoree. Senior Dekota Metzler and junior Isaiah Lester were the two honorable mention representatives for GAHS.

The Defenders had four seniors chosen to the Division III squads, with Caleb Burnett earning first team honors while Justin Sizemore came away with second team accolades. Eric Blevins and Marshall Hood were the two honorable mention choices for OVCS.

The OSSCA Team Sportsmanship Awards went to the Waverly girls and South Webster boys. The Blue Devils were also one of 13 boys teams to earn the OSSCA Academic Award for having a team GPA of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.


Division I

First Team: Ezra Bukky (Logan).

Second Team: Nathan Kudlapur (Logan).

Honorable Mention: Caiden Landis (Logan), Jeremy Williams (Logan).

Division II

First Team: Dustin Goetz (Athens), Victor Davis (Athens), Christian Brown (Chilicothe), Jason Johnson (Chilicothe), Mitchell Castillo (Circleville), Thomas Stanley (Circleville), Nathaniel Castle (Fairfield Union), Nick Fry (Fairfield Union), Logan Carpenter (Gallia Academy), Kobe Curtis (Hillsboro), DJ Brown (Hillsboro) Quinnton Haislop (Jackson), Preston Schultz (Logan Elm), Bowen Boldoser (Logan Elm), Ben Dehmlow (Marietta), Austin Chen (Marietta), Blake Pittser (Miami Trace), Nathan Bragdon (Portsmouth West), Jake Helton (South Point), Tanner Cremeans (Unioto), Colten Cantley (Warren), Seth Hall (Warren), Seth Hanusik (Washington Court House), James White (Waverly), Darby Pillow (Zane Trace).

Player of the Year: Dustin Goetz (Athens).

Coach of the Year: Nate Cropsey (Logan Elm).

Second Team: Logan Hoon (Athens), Finn Kola (Athens), William Krieger (Chilicothe), Tyler Stanton (Chilicothe), Sean Wroten (Circleville), Draven Bass (Circleville), Brandon Moeller (Fairfield Union), Hayden Price (Fairfield Union), Zach Johnson (Gallia Academy), Payton Bell (Hillsboro), Sheldon Moore (Jackson), Kyle Turner (Jackson), Johnathan Reisinger (Logan Elm), Justin Boldoser (Logan Elm), Justin Hammons (Marietta), Christian Kendall (Marietta), Tim Kinzler (Miami Trace), TJ Hoggard (Portsmouth West), Gage Stephens (South Point), Ryan Smith (Unioto), Zach Sullivan (Warren), Michael O’ Callaghan (Washington Court House), Levi Moore (Waverly) Holden Johnson (Zane Trace).

Honorable Mention: Aiden Crowl (Athens), Samuel Morales (Athens), Hudson Ward (Chilicothe), Sean McCorkle (Chilicothe), Shaun Porter (Circleville), Jacob Heidish (Circleville), Taylor Sloan (Fairfield Union), Colin Groce (Fairfield Union), Isiah Lester (Gallia Academy), Dakota Metzler (Gallia Academy), Mackenzie Conlon (Hillsboro), Chase Colliver (Hillsboro), Michael Benson (Jackson), Devon Ball (Jackson), Corbin Betz (Logan Elm), Dillon Lowell (Logan Elm), John Mannix (Marietta), Nathan Westfall (Marietta), Tommy Free (McClain), Cameron Spangler (McClain), Edik Liff (Miami Trace), Ethan Conn (Miami Trace), Jack Cremeans (Portsmouth West), Brandon Meadows (Portsmouth West), Merrick Harris (South Point), Jordan Overstreet (South Point), Tre Ivey (Unioto), Hunter Maughmer (Unioto), Elliot Ullman (Warren), Cole Miller (Warren), Blaise Tayese (Washington Court House), Jake Luebbe (Washington Court House), Tyler Newman (Waverly), Garrett Stulley (Waverly), Josh Manasco (Zane Trace), Andrew Stauffer (Zane Trace).

Division III

First Team: Wyatt Sellers (Adena), Aric Russell (Alexander), Kyle Howard (Alexander), Michael Norris (Alexander), Cody Storer (Belpre), Wesley Stephens (Chesapeake), Brady Klein (Eastern Brown), Trey Current (Eastern Brown), Tom Ellison (Fairfield Leesburg), Ethan Porter (Glenwood), Noah Scott (Lynchburg-Clay), Devin Pierson (Lynchburg-Clay), Jacob Perry (Minford), Eli Reffit (Minford), Aaron Pertuset (North Adams), Drew Coppock (North Adams), Caleb Mills (Northwest), Austin Speer (Northwest), Caleb Burnett (Ohio Valley Christian), Brennan Sims (Peebles), Tyler Knittel (Portsmouth Clay), Aaron Keyse (Portsmouth Clay), Judge Williams (St. Joseph), Shane Zimmerman (South Webster), Drew Dutiel (South Webster), Hunter Miles (Southeastern), Bryce Romanello (Valley), Zack Gahm (Valley), Andre Wolke (West Union), Ethan McCain (Wheelersburg), Christian Hughes (Wheelersburg).

Player of the Year: Ethan McCain (Wheelersburg).

Coach of the Year: Jon Estep (Wheelersburg).

Second Team: Michael Newland (Adena), Trey Nuzum (Alexander), Joshua Robe (Alexander), Alex Tribe (Alexander), Josh Davis (Belpre), Blake Ridenour (Chesapeake), Mickey Hundley (Eastern Brown), Jesse Current (Fairfield Leesburg), Edward McGahan (Glenwood), Brandon Storer (Lynchburg-Clay), Wesley Smith (Lynchburg-Clay), Mason Harris (Minford), Ian Tolle (Minford), Ben Figgins (North Adams), Patrick England (North Adams), Ben Howard (Northwest), Billy Murphey (Northwest), Justin Sizemore (Ohio Valley Christian), Tanner Schmitz (Peebles), Ethan Newton (Portsmouth Clay), Peyton Adkins (St. Joseph), Alek Blevins (South Webster), Trevor Coriell (South Webster), Travis Arledge (Southeastern), Aaron Linne (Valley), Alex Gahm (Valley), Mac Wilson (West Union), Ethan Pauley (Wheelersburg), Dolton Wood (Wheelersburg), Alex Munion (Wheelersburg).

Honorable Mention: Hanna Page (Adena), Alexis Putnam (Adena), Christian Touchet (Alexander), Nathan Goss (Alexander), Kellar Windland (Belpre), Sheldon Smith (Belpre), Dalton Nida (Chesapeake), Kolton Webb (Chesapeake), Kendall Purdy (Eastern Brown), Joey Balas (Eastern Brown), Everett Jones (Fairfield Leesburg), Ryan Matthews (Fairfield Leesburg), Austin Litz (Glenwood), Dylan Rawlins (Glenwood), Tyler Brinkman (Lynchburg-Clay), Bobby Merry (Lynchburg-Clay), Tanner Gampy (Minford), Jeremy Fuhrmann (Minford), Cole Roades (North Adams), Lee Hesler (North Adams), Tyler Webb (Northwest), Dylan Amburgey (Northwest), Eric Blevins (Ohio Valley Christian), Marshall Hood (Ohio Valley Christian), Connor Browning (Peebles), Kalub Smith (Peebles), Devon Holcomb (Portsmouth Clay), Jordan Collier (Portsmouth Clay), Nathan Bragdon (Portsmouth West), TJ Hoggard (Portsmouth West), Bradley Rist (St. Joseph), Joey Bush (St. Joseph), Kahler Rockwell (South Webster), Dom Holding (South Webster), Jordan Osborne (Southeastern), Isiah Dresbach (Southeastern), Jacob Gibson (Valley), Adam Friend (Valley), Tyler Swearingen (West Union), Jacob Miley (West Union), Zack Jordan (Wheelersburg), Chance Holbrook (Wheelersburg).

Ohio Valley Christian School senior Marshall Hood makes a save during the Defenders’ game against Calvary on Oct. 9 in Gallipolis, Ohio.
http://aimmedianetwork.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/14/2015/11/web1_11.13-OVC-Hood.jpgOhio Valley Christian School senior Marshall Hood makes a save during the Defenders’ game against Calvary on Oct. 9 in Gallipolis, Ohio. Donald Lambert/OVP Sports

By Bryan Walters