Hoffman makes Class A boys all-state

By Paul Boggs - pboggs@civitasmedia.com

Wahama senior Philip Hoffman (1) has been named West Virginia Class A Honorable Mention all-state in boys basketball. (Paul Boggs/OVP Sports)

Paul Boggs/OVP Sports

CLARKSBURG, W. Va. — Wahama’s Philip Hoffman has more than made his mark as a White Falcon baseball standout.

However, on Monday, he officially captured his highest honor in the sport of boys basketball.

That’s because Hoffman, as announced by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association, made Honorable Mention on this season’s West Virginia Class A all-state club.

Hoffman — a six-foot, two-inch senior forward — averaged 15.4 points, 8.8 rebounds, 2.6 assists and two steals in his final campaign.

He is a Marshall University baseball signee, as Wahama —the two-time defending Class A state champion — has opened its 2017 season.

Hoffman was the only White Falcon to make the squad, as no players from Hannan were named to the list.

Jarrod West, a senior from Clarksburg Notre Dame, was chosen as the first-team captain.

The second-team captain is Ravenswood junior Isaiah Morgan — with Wheeling Central senior John Burkhalter being selected as the third-team captain.

Ravenswood, the Class A state runner-up, placed four players on the all-state unit — and played Point Pleasant, Wahama and Southern during its regular season.

The all-state basketball teams — both boys and girls — are selected by members of the WVSWA.

The 2016-17 West Virginia boys Class A All-State Team, as voted upon by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association, is listed below.

First Team

Jarrod West, Notre Dame, Sr. (Captain); Taylor Straughn, Bishop Donahue, Sr.; Brent Price, Wheeling Central, Jr.; Riley Heatherington, Ravenswood, Sr.; Deaundra Murphy, St. Joseph, Sr.; Joey Ewusiak, Madonna, Sr.; Trey Shuff, Gilmer County, Sr.; Tyler May, Tug Valley, Jr.

Second Team

Taylor Jarrell, Van, Jr.; Will Fenton, Fayetteville, Sr.; Isaiah Morgan, Ravenswood, Jr., (Captain); Brett Tharp, East Hardy, Jr.; Sam Kincaid, St.Marys, Sr.; Trey Routt, Cameron, Sr.; Tavon Jeter, Madonna, Sr.; Ethan Crosten, Tucker County, Sr.

Third Team

Tannner Burnette, Clay-Battelle, Sr.; John Burkhalter, Wheeling Central, Sr. (Captain); Spencer Dean, Valley-Fayette, Jr.; Gabe Zummo, Notre Dame, Soph.; Marcus Lively, Fayetteville, Sr.; Robby Williams, Charleston Catholic, Soph.; Logan Plummer, Parkersburg Catholic, Sr.; John Morrison, St. Joseph, Sr.

Honorable Mention

Noah Avilies, Gilmer County; Cam Barnette, South Harrison; Hunter Bevins, Greenbrier West; Will Billeter, St. Marys; Jonathan Blankenship, Tug Valley; Noah Bohanna, Notre Dame; Garrett Brown, Tug Valley; Isacc Brown, Williamstown; Ellis Bryson, Mount View; Craig Casto, Montcalm; A.J. Collins, Parkersburg Catholic; Luke Cooper, Pendleton County; Dondre Davis, Valley-Fayette; Stephen Dawson, Ravenswood; Chase DiBartolomeo, Madonna; Caleb Duncan, Sherman; Luka Gerke, Meadow Bridge; Jared Gladwell, Meadow Bridge; Nick Gipson, Valley-Fayette; Owen Gainer, Wheeling Central; Dalton Gray, Webster County; Dorian Groggs, Webster County; Jamison Hamm, Summers County; Dillon Harper, Midland Trail; Aaron Heasley, Paden City; Leo Herrick, Magnolia; Hayden Hizer, Paden City; Philip Hoffman, Wahama; Garrick Hopkins, St. Joseph; Kevin Imani, Charleston Catholic; Jaquane Imes, Mount View; Dylan Irvin, Valley Wetzel; Adam Johnson, Greenbrier West; Coty Jude, Tolsia; Koltin Kleeh, Bishop Donahue; Tanner Lett, Doddridge County; Shane Lipps, Richwood; Hayden Mandrake, Ravenswood; Zac McCauley, Tygarts Valley; Noah Midkiff, Greenbrier West; Robert Miliken, Cameron; Jay Moore, Greater Beckley Christian; Ricky Meadows, Fayetteville;Alex Midcap, Valley Wetzel; Noah Minor, Midland Trail; Jaret Mullooly, Notre Dame; Orlando Potter, Greater Beckley Christian; Cole Price, Van; Jace Reed, Tyler Consolidated; Landon Ridgeway, Paw Paw; Hunter Riffle, Doddridge County; Caleb Riggleman, Tygarts Valley; Ricky Robinson, East Hardy; Gabe Rohmann, Wheeling Central; Trey Scott, Cameron; Carter Springer, Gilmer County; Austin Starcher, Buffalo; Danny Stewart, Hundred; Chase Sullivan, Ritchie County; Dacota Thomas, Summers County; Cade Ullman, Parkersburg Catholic; Tyler Williamson, Magnolia; Zack Yanero, Calhoun County; Zach Yates, Meadow Bridge; Joseph Zini, Trinity

Wahama senior Philip Hoffman (1) has been named West Virginia Class A Honorable Mention all-state in boys basketball. (Paul Boggs/OVP Sports)
http://aimmedianetwork.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/14/2017/03/web1_3.22-WAH-Hoffman.jpgWahama senior Philip Hoffman (1) has been named West Virginia Class A Honorable Mention all-state in boys basketball. (Paul Boggs/OVP Sports) Paul Boggs/OVP Sports

By Paul Boggs