9 from OVP earn TVC-Ohio football

By Paul Boggs - pboggs@civitasmedia.com

River Valley’s Patrick Brown (12) captured all-Tri-Valley Conference Ohio Division football honors.

Paul Boggs/OVP Sports

Five River Valley Raiders and four Meigs Marauders, along with 26 other individuals, made all Tri-Valley Conference Ohio Division football for 2016 — which the conference officially announced on Monday.

The annual list for the now seven-team division is selected by the division’s coaches, as Nelsonville-York — which won the TVC-Ohio championship for the first time since 2010 — amassed the maximum eight selections.

The Buckeyes, which went winless in the league only a year ago but reversed course to a perfect 6-0 this year, also swept the top honors.

Nelsonville-York senior linebacker Noah Andrews, the only all-league player to also make the unit in 2013, was tabbed as the Defensive Player of the Year.

Alex Mount, a senior running back for the Buckeyes, and Athens senior quarterback Brendan Sano shared the Offensive Player of the Year award.

Nelsonville-York first-year head coach Rusty Richards collected Coach of the Year honors.

Athens had won four consecutive division championships, before Alexander won the title for the first time last year.

The runner-up Bulldogs (5-1 TVC) gained six spots on the all-TVC-Ohio squad, followed by third-place finishers River Valley and Vinton County with five nods apiece.

Both the Raiders and Vikings went 3-3 in the league, as River Valley just completed only its third season in the TVC.

Wellston and Meigs tied for fifth at 2-4, as Alexander went winless at 0-6.

Both the Golden Rockets and Marauders mustered four picks apiece, while the Spartans secured three names for their seventh-place finish.

The Raiders’ selections featured five first-timers — seniors Tre Craycraft, Jacob Dovenbarger and Brody Moles, sophomore Jacob Campbell and junior Patrick Brown.

The Marauders’ four choices were also first-timers — sophomores Zach Bartrum and Cole Adams and juniors Zach Helton and Matt Brown.

All eight Buckeyes that were chosen were all seniors — Andrews, Mount, Hunter Edwards, Christian Berry, Matt Carter, Aron Davis, Skylar Canter and Garret O’Nail.

Edwards and Davis repeated to the list from last year, while Mount, Andrews and Edwards also made all-TVC two years ago.

Besides Sano, Athens’ other seniors included Brody Rodgers, Luke Carpenter, Andy Kostival and Nick Engelmann.

Athens’ only underclassman was junior Robert Dickelman, as Kostival claimed repeat honors from last season.

Vinton County’s five honorees sported seniors Caleb Montgomery and Darren Perry — and juniors Donnie Stevens, Hunter Nichols and Naylen Yates.

Montgomery was the Vikings’ only repeat selection.

Wellston was represented by seniors Nick Cox, Chris Edmisten and Rodney Brown — along with junior Travis Jayjohn.

For Alexander, its honorees were seniors Chace Harris and A.J. Marks — along with the only freshman on the list in Kaleb Easley.

Cox of Wellston and Harris of Alexander made the all-league club for the third straight season, while Marks repeated from last year.

Paul Boggs can be reached at 740-446-2342, ext. 2106

River Valley’s Patrick Brown (12) captured all-Tri-Valley Conference Ohio Division football honors.
http://aimmedianetwork.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/14/2016/11/web1_11.25-RV-Brown.jpgRiver Valley’s Patrick Brown (12) captured all-Tri-Valley Conference Ohio Division football honors. Paul Boggs/OVP Sports

By Paul Boggs